Cycling Double-Speak

It’s that time of the year again – the time of year when riders start to break out the cycling double-speak.  Here are some of the comments you might overhear on an upcoming group ride:

___________________

I’m tired today = I feel great and plan to dust you

No-drop ride = Better bring your cell phone, because you’ll need directions later

I’m sticking to my training plan = I’m on the wheel of the first guy who makes a move

I never get dropped = When I inevitably get dropped, I claim to have been sticking to my training plan

I’m toast = I’m hurting, but have saved just enough to beat you in the final sprint

I’ve never taken PEDs = Do we really need to bring up the past?

I haven’t been training at all lately = I’ve been training harder than ever to dominate our group ride

Today is a recovery day for me = You’re gonna be crying like a baby by the end of today’s ride

I need some good base mileage at a moderate HR = I’m going to race you from the start

My shifting has been really balky lately = I just did a complete tune-up and perfectly dialed in everything

It’s a recovery ride / I’m sore / I’m coming down with something / I’m just going to spin today, etc. = If I get dropped it’s because of whatever lame excuse I just mentioned.

Courtesy of RoadBikeRider

One Response to Cycling Double-Speak

  1. […] Cycling Double-Speak http://www.corinthcycling.com It’s that time of the year again – the time of year when riders start to break out the cycling double-speak.  Here are some of the comments you might overhear on an upcoming group ride: […]

Leave a Reply

